Chelsea Goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois ‘Striving For Perfection’ Under Antonio Conte

Antonio Conte’s side have made very few mistakes on their way to a nine-point lead at the top of the table, but Courtois is looking for more from his own performances.

‘I want to improve myself to reach a higher level,’ Courtois told Sky Sports. ‘I think I am on a very good level, but I know that I can improve myself. I think in everything you can improve.

‘Everything you can improve every day and search for perfection and that is what I will try to do.’

Conte has changed the formation at Chelsea, reverting to a back three with Marcos Alonso and Victor Moses as wing-backs.

That new system allows Courtois the chance to play the ball out short from the back, and the Belgium star admits that is one aspect he is working hard on.

‘When I was in Belgium, I played a lot of balls short,’ he continued. ‘At Atletico Madrid, the trainer preferred only long balls, so you forget to play short a little. So maybe that might be the biggest point of improvement.

‘It is good if you have a manager who is demanding a lot. You have to be at your top every week, and that is what makes you champions.’

Chelsea continued their hunt for the title with a 3-1 victory over Arsenal on Saturday lunchtime.

Next up, they have Burnley away in a game which could take their record for the season to 20 wins from 25 matches.

 

Leave a Reply

